Snakes (incomplete)

snakes

December 2013

Ink in moleskine notebook

Of all the pieces I’ve posted so far, this one is by far the most ‘stolen’.  As I’ve mentioned before, I usually look on other peoples blogs or websites to get inspiration.  I usually scroll through a few pages, study something I like, move on to the next, and so on until I form an image or idea in my head that I think would look better on paper.  In this instance, I came across these photographs of serpents on but does it float and it was a post of some photos done by Guido Mocafico, an amazing photographer.   I still love this photo compilation, it’s so unique.

I usually use Micron pens for most of my drawings, and I had also recently received a pack of colored ones from my sister as a gift.  I had wanted to do something in color (even though I ended up leaving it black and white) and these photos seemed like the perfect opportunity.  And since I had done the octopus in stippling and really liked how it turned out, I decided to do another stippled piece.  This one has taken much longer, and is still a work in progress.  But it’s probably one of my favorites, and I feel like you always need to have something to keep working on.

Leave a Reply

